Random Thoughts. Random Times.

Frustrating Patience leads to undying motivation.

As many of you know, I’ve been attempting to start up my own independent clothing line/ Lifestyle apparel for the last year or so. With many delays and layout overhauls, it can be painfully frustrating at times. Most of us look at these random companies and assume it’s all fun and games, but getting something jump started takes a lot of attention to detail and endless hours of work.

I wrote a brief piece on this on my apparel site: www.snukii.com.

But I’d just like to elaborate a bit more here.

There has been many speed bumps along the way to releasing new designs to the masses, but I’ve learned that you just have to keep grinding it out. I usually like to compare this feeling to cramming all-nighters for a mid-term or final, but instead in my case, it just never ends. The grind continues and at times, it’s wore me down. To keep focus over-time is mentally draining but I’ve found that as long as I keep my eye on where I want to be i.e. getting a degree, grinding it out everyday isn’t as tough as it may seem.

But we all need a little motivation and passion. It’s harder in school of course because nobody really cares about Machiavelli, people just overly quote him just to look intelligent without ever reading his literature and without even knowing that the “The Prince” wasn’t even his most prized work. But that’s besides the point. I’ve attended college for 4 years and received a degree in Political Science. I was ready to take on the world, only to quickly realize everything I’ve learned and stressed over for 4 years is essentially useless in the real world. Of course its great for random outings and par-taking in random intellectual conversations, but all anyone really wants to talk about is last night’s episode of Jersey Shore.

I got a bit off-track there, but this some-how leads us into my motivation. There’s no major in college to be your own boss or do what you want. We’re just told to do a certain major because it’ll bring us lots bling $$. What’s the point of massive bank accounts without happiness. I created Snukii as a self-employed campaign against society and all its beliefs, not negatively but indeed to be positive. I like to be creative and rant on for hours about how things could be better and how we can be happier than we are.

I don’t care if I’m not able to make millions, but if I’m able to express myself creatively on a daily basis and to passionately do what I love, than life is basically complete. I just need a bit of change to put a roof over my head and food in my tummy.

Leave a Reply

